Automotive Working Group

Printer-friendly versionSend by emailPDF version

Logo Arbeitskreis Automotive

Goals of the Automotive Working Group

The Automotive Working Group is an initiative of the edacentrum and was established with the support of the BMBF. Its overriding goal is to accelerate innovation in the development process of future automobiles. 90% of all vehicle innovations are based on microelectronics, so it is indispensable for innovation leaders in the entire automotive supply chain to incorporate the new possibilities from the semiconductor industry and electronics into the vehicle as quickly as possible. The aim is to optimize all development processes along the entire value chain, from micro- and nanoelectronics to components and systems to the finished automobile.

The working group does not see itself as a purely industrial working group. As measures to achieve the technical goals, the working group initiates funded R&D projects in which universities and non-university research institutions are involved, thus differentiating itself from existing working groups of other organisations.


Eligible for admission are companies in the commercial sector which, at the time of the application for admission, have a permanent establishment or branch in Germany and carry out relevant research activities in line with the objectives of the Automotive Working Group. A regular membership of the applicant in the edacentrum e.V. is a further prerequisite for admission entitlement. For further details on membership, please request the rules and regulations of the Automotive Working Group via our contact addresses.


The members of the Automotive Working Group are (Status 11/2022):

  • Audi AG
  • Cadence Design Systems GmbH
  • Continental Automotive GmbH
  • Dream Chip Technologies GmbH
  • edacentrum GmbH
  • Fujikura Technology Europe GmbH
  • Globalfoundries Europe Ltd.
  • Hella GmbH & Co. KGaA
  • HOOD GmbH
  • Infineon Technologies AG
  • Intel Deutschland GmbH
  • Microchip Technologies Germany GmbH
  • MINRES Technologies GmbH
  • NXP Semiconductors Germany GmbH
  • Robert Bosch GmbH
  • Siemens
  • Synopsys GmbH
  • Volkswagen AG

Currently, the Automotive working group is represented by its elected spokesman Matthias Klude (Globalfoundries).

Mitglieder des Arbeitskreises Automotive (Stand 12.11.2016)
Members of the Automotive working group


Peter Neumann
edacentrum GmbH
Schneiderberg 32
30167 Hannover
neumannatedacentrum [dot] de